Wednesday, March 13, 2013
April 1 is the application deadline for Gwinnett homestead exemptions.
Wednesday, March 13
The best way for homeowners to reduce property taxes is to apply for homestead exemptions. The application deadline for Gwinnett County is April 1. To obtain exemptions, applicants must own and occupy the property as their primary residence as of Jan. 1 of the tax year for which application is being made. Applications for 2013 exemptions will not be accepted after April 1. Apply online at the Gwinnett Tax Commissioner’s website or contact the Property Tax Department for an application. If mailing the completed application, using certified mail is recommended. The signed certified signature card, along with a postmark on or before the deadline, will serve as proof of timely application. Once granted, the homestead exemption is …
Friday, March 8, 2013
The Gwinnett County Tax Commissioner's Office is bracing for an expected increase in the number of automobile owners who may appeal their car's appraised value.
Friday, March 8
Georgia's new "title tax" law, which went into effect March 1, is creating an unexpected expense for Gwinnett County. The county is anticipating an increase in the number of appeals by car buyers seeking a reduction in the value of their newly purchased automobile. Car buyers purchasing a vehicle beginning the first day of March must pay a title tax of 6.5 percent of the value of the vehicle. This new tax replaces the annual ad valorem tax for cars purchased after this date. The new title tax is assessed on any vehicle, new or used. According to an AJC report, Gwinnett Chief Appraiser Steve Pruitt said he expects a substantial increase in the number of appeals. Pruitt said his office generally sees some 100 to 120 appeals annually, but is …
Monday, February 18, 2013
H.B. 386 replaces the annual ad valorem tax on newly purchased vehicles.
Monday, February 18
The so-called "birthday tax" that Georgia vehicle owners pay will end in March 2013 -- for people who purchase a new vehicle. Effective March 1, 2013, House Bill 386 removes the sales tax and the annual ad valorem tax on newly purchased vehicles, according to a Gwinnett County newsletter. Instead, there will be a new title tax of 6.5 percent in 2013 -- only due each time the vehicle is sold and titled. It applies to dealer sales as well as sales between individuals.You'll pay this tax in the county where you register the vehicle. However, you will continue to pay the annual ad valorem tax on vehicle(s) that you currently own. Other aspects of the new law: To obtain more information and a title tax calculator, visit www.…