Gwinnett Teacher of the Year to be Named Nov. 1

There are six finalists for Gwinnett TOTY. The top teacher will be announced during banquet at Gwinnett Center in Duluth.

The 2013 Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year will be announced Thursday, Nov. 1, at the annual Teacher of the Year banquet at the Gwinnett Center in Duluth.

Six finalists were was selected from an initial list of 131 teachers nominated by their colleagues at their local schools and 16 elementary, five middle, and five high school teachers later named semi-finalists.

The finalists are:

  • Erica Leach, Walnut Grove ES, Suwanee, Collins Hill Cluster
  • Deborah Johnson, Berkmar MS, Lilburn, Berkmar Cluster
  • Celisa Edwards, Dacula MS, Dacula, Dacula Cluster
  • Heidi Mikulekcy, Richards MS, Lawrenceville, Central Gwinnett Cluster
  • Jay Nebel, Norcross HS, Norcross, Norcross Cluster
  • Dean Landers, Peachtree Ridge High, Suwanee, Peachtree Ridge Cluster

A committee composed of teachers, central office personnel,
and administrators will select the top teacher, who will then compete to become Georgia’s Teacher of the Year.

~ Duluth Patch


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »